The team behind the project

Sanctum is a Situations project for Bristol 2015 European Green Capital funded by Arts Council England Exceptional Fund and the Henry Moore Foundation in partnership with English Heritage. The project is produced in association with MAYK, Babbasa Youth Empowerment Projects, Bristol Plays Music, Drake Music, LARA (Lorraine Ayensu Refugee Arts), St. George's Bristol and Ujima Radio and supported by Hilton Garden Inn. Sanctum will develop as an ENPAP nomadic project in partnership with Urbane Künste Ruhr in 2016.

Theaster Gates


Rachael Baskeyfield, Digital Reporter

Jo Baxendale, On-site Production Assistant
Georgina Bolton, Assistant Producer

Maria Carter, Company Manager

Rachel Cartwright, Administrative Assistant
Claire Doherty, Director

Eloise Dunwell, UWE MA Curating intern

Luke Emery, Producer

Sarah James, Deputy Director

Laura Jeffery, Communications Manager

Rowan Lear. Communications Manager
Michael Prior, Associate Producer (Engagement)
Dave Wilkie, Production Manager

Associate Programme Producers - MAYK
Matthew Austin & Kate Yedigaroff, Co-Directors
Bethany West, Arts Administration Assistant

Programme Advisor
Edson Burton

Andrew T. Cross, ANArchitecture

Build Team
Tom Dawson
Charlie Eccleston
Dan Halhead
Jeff Ive
Jackson James
Sean Kerr
Elliott Mills
Matt Pike
Brody Stevens

Situations Rising
Kamina Walton
Christina Ashmole
Emma Morsi
Laura Gabe

Digital Storytellers
Ailsa Fineron
Alex Part
Ella Marshall
Ella Trudgeon
Eva Ennals
Issy Snailham
Jasmine Thompson
Nawaaz Hussain
Nicola Pearce
Rogina James
Roisin Kelly
Shamil Ahmed
Sophie Malpas

PR and Press
Sam Talbot and Olivia Cerio, Sutton PR

Sam Irving and Tom Booth, LightTrap Films
Benjamin Croce

Inner Sanctum Online Partner
Canvas powered by Rightster

Design and web development
Extra Strong

Outdoor furniture design
Knowle West Factory

With thanks to: Andrew Kelly, Bristol Cultural Development Partnership; Jo Baxendale, Adam Gent, Phil Gibby, Peter Heslip and Simon Jutton, Arts Council England; Zoe Sear and the team at Bristol 2015; George Ferguson, Mayor of Bristol; Helen Allen, Melanie Barge, Amy Hulyer, Jennifer McCracken, Niall Morrisey, Michael Murray-Fennell, Alex Page and Win Scutt, English Heritage; Claire Feeley; Alexandra Small and Theaster Gates studio, Chicago; La Keisha Leek and the University of Chicago; Will Davies, Nicola Jeffs and the team at White Cube; Rob Harding; Mary Jane Jacob and the School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Kevin Byrnes, Amy Newman and Mario Laaf, Hilton Garden Inn; Katja Assman, Urbane Künste Ruhr; Major Ian Mountford, Salvation Army; Victoria Holden, Melissa Inman, Aldo Rinaldi and Clare Teasdale, Bristol City Council; Michael Beek, Louise Orchard and Suzanne Rolt, St. George's Bristol; Poku Osei, Amy Gallivant and Aisha Shakoor, Babbasa Youth Empowerment Projects; Luke Turner and Marcus Campbell, Drake Music; Phil Casting and Laurie Stewart, Bristol Plays Music; Qerim Nuredini and Danny Vincent, Bristol Refugee Rights; Roger Griffith, Ujima Radio; Kathryn Davis, Destination Bristol; Paul Isaacs, Generator South West; Rhiannon Jones, Trinity; Stephanie Kempson; Graham Hodge, Sarah Hamilton and Susannah Simons, Canvas; Melissa Mean,Knowle West Media Centre.